In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 588
Online now 156 Record: 3748 (12/16/2013)
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
Tiger hit the flag on 15 and it went into the drink. Awful luck. The shot after his drop landed within 2 feet of the hole, about as good as it gets. Playing very well.
Still in striking distance after a so-so back 9.
Get a Free Xbox One or $480 Cash or Gift cards! - Join the 247 BLUE BOARD Conga Line! http://bit.ly/1eEPuaF
He is definitely in a dangerous position right now, and should make a move. However, he really let a very good draw of tee times get away from him, he shouldve capitalized a little more.
Those of you who have tiger may be disappointed, still unsure if he will be DQd for a bad drop yesterday and signing a false scorecard.
Hit with a 2 shot penalty. Not disqualified.
I hope he wins just to give the PGA a huge F U... I love watching Tiger play golf and some of the rules on the PGA tour are retarded.
Weird that somebody watching at home can call in and affect the outcome of the tournament
I would understand if it was a big difference but it was a matter of a few feet. As far as I'm concerned if the PGA does not catch it by the time his round is over then it shouldn't matter.
They did review prior to the completion of his round and determined no violation occurred. When Tiger discussed it in his post round interview, he said he dropped the ball 2 yards back from the previous spot. This confirmed the violation. So they examined again and assessed the penalty.
Tiger did himself in with his comments in the interview.
It's interesting listening to the talking heads talk about the integrity of the game and therefore he should be disqualified. Except the rules gave him a two shot penalty so by the "integrity" of the rules he should not be disqualified. I hope he plays and I hope he wins. If he does win the asterisk is not that he should have been disqualified its that he had to overcome adversity of a 2 shot penalty and still won.
Listening to the Rules Committee just now, I don't see how he didn't know he was violating the rule. I also believe the committee intentionally gave him a break initially. He really should withdraw, but I'm glad he hasn't and I hope he wins.
If he knew he had broken a rule, there is no way he goes into detailed explanation during his interview about it.
But, if anybody should have known the damn rule, it would be a professional golfer.
I think they said the committee had reviewed it while Tiger was still playing and determined it wasn't a violation. They then reopened it later on after he had signed his score card. If they had found it to be a violation while he was still playing, he would have had the opportunity to assess the two shot penalty before signing his score card. That's why he wasn't DQ'd. Also, if they hadn't looked into it at all until after he signed the card, he would have been DQ'd. So I guess the timeline was a big factor.
I still think it's weird that people are allowed to call in and point out rule violations. Especially since only certain golfers are shown on TV. Somebody else not named Tiger Woods could have done the exact same thing and nobody knows about it because it's not on TV. That player wouldn't have been disqualified or received a two shot penalty.
Interesting. Appears that Tiger's estimate of moving the ball back 2 yards was incorrect. Story on Yahoo showing first and 2nd shots, and it appears they are very close, and the committee was likely correct when they initially viewed it and said that no violation occurred.
That was a great Masters!
If Tiger's ball doesn't hit the stick on 15, he likely Birdies and is tied at -9.
It was great. I think Tiger wins if he doesn't get that penalty he would have played Saturday and Sunday with a different approach. That being said Adam Scott made some bigtime pressure putts to win it and that shot Cabrera hit on 18 was unbelievable.
Yep, that was an incredible ending.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports